EEU: Unmarked fur products are prohibited as of 12 August 2016

All EEU countries (Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan) have ratified the Agreement on the pilot project on light industry product labelling for natural fur products. The Agreement enters into force on 12 August 2016. From this date all fur products distributed or sold in the EEU territory must bear a special identification mark. Sale, storage, use and transportation of unmarked fur clothing and other natural fur products becomes prohibited.

The purpose of this requirement is to prevent placement on the market of illegitimate products.  

The Agreement on the Implementation in 2015-2016 of the pilot project on the requirement of an identification mark  for fur clothing and other natural fur products was signed on 8 September 2015 in Belarus and as at 2 August 2016 has been ratified by all EEU members: Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan.